A Tinge of Minimalism

It all seems too easy, just box all your stuff and off you go to your newly created minimalistic life.

Then weeks and months pass and you still haven’t done the ‘boxing up’ exercise that seems to work when you look at others who have successfully embraced minimalism.

Don’t worry, I’m not a minimalist! And I’m guessing I might not even get to earn enough brownie points to get to the point that I could call myself a minimalist (of course I wouldn’t want to upset the purists!).

 

Thing is…I like the concept of having lesser stuff. And I am happy to report that I have found a way forward! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

One question and action.

 

Question (to ask after picking up an object from your chosen area): Does this belong here?

 

Action: Bring it where it belongs!

 

Looking at the things directly in front of me…I’ll start:

  • A rechargeable battery (AA) – no, it belongs in a container where all the AA and AAA batteries are stored (inside a clear plastic container with a label: ‘batteries to be recharged’).
  • Four sets of Post-it Flags – no, they belong in a drawer where all the other sticky notes are.
  • Coins ($3) – no, they are supposed to be in a coin purse (excess coins get taken to the bank for deposit).
  • A Guitar Pick – no, it belongs in my kit bits drawer (where a number of music knickknacks are, including the resealable bag that contains my other spare picks)

 

Yay! Four less things for me to put away! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Would you like to try…and pick your four?

 

You just did!? Whooo hooo! Surprised that it was easier that you thought? ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Here’s more minimalist quotes to get you going from full-on practitioners:

  • “Iโ€™ve found it helpful to think of these changes as a marathon, not a sprint” – Leo Babauta
  • “Imagine your life a year from now…five years from now. What’s it gonna look like?” – Ryan Nicodemus
One thought on “A Tinge of Minimalism

Leave a Reply

