Turning Off Reblogging

Did you know that instead of requesting others not to re-blog your content, you can just turn the functionality off?

A while back, I remember a couple of ‘About Me’ sections of blogs requesting not to re-blog their content. Now I’m not sure why they keep that functionality on still (unless they didn’t know that it can be turned off).

I guess from a Twitter user’s perspective, reblogging is similar to retweeting:

2015-03-07 - Retweet Example - Neil Gaiman

That is why I didn’t mind the concept (though I don’t think my content has been reblogged before).

 

Though I do understand those who choose not to have their content show up on another site (maybe because it is likely that the person who came across a post that has been reblogged, might not visit the site where the content originated from?).

 

Anyway! Let me stop myself, so I can guide you through the steps required to turn off the reblogging option on your site:

  1. Go to WP Admin (by clicking My Site —> WP Admin) 2015-03-07 - Reblogging - Step 1
  2. Click on Settings —> Sharing 2015-03-07 - Reblogging - Steps 2 and 3
  3. Scroll down to the end of the page and select: “Don’t show the Reblog button on posts”

That’s it! 🙂 Hope that lessened your worries today (that someone would share your content without your permission)!

First time visiting? It’ll be great if you head here after reading. 🙂

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s